Writing/Plays

Daniela Holtz is a professional writer of screenplays, plays and radio drama. Alongside her own writing she also edits other peoples’ text in film and radio drama.

Plays:

The play ‘Nachtgeschwister’ (published by Felix-Bloch-erben Berlin) follows the obsessive romantic relationship between an Eastern and Western writer, who meet on a book tour in the West. Based on the autobiographical novels from Wolfgang Hilbig (Provisorium) and Natascha Wodein (Nachtgechwister) came ‘Nachgeschwister’; set in Berlin and Nürnberg following the fall of the Berlin Wall, it explores the limits of human relationships and the helpless yearning for a better life. How far are you prepared to go when you have found your soulmate? This is a relationship that journeys through the darkness, and only one can come out alive.

She: ‘You become ever stranger to me. We can’t continue. How can we live together? And where?’
He: For all I care we can live in a rubbish dump.
She: “There is nowhere I can offer you.”
He: “The only thing that matters is being with you. You know much more about the world than I do.
She: “But it’s not enough. I need something to hold on to.’


Radio plays:

The radio play ‘nachgeschwister/provisorisch’ read by Martina Gedeck and Christain Redl and directed by Ulrich Lampen, was produced and broadcast by mdr Figaro and since then has also been transmitted by deutschlandradio kultur, deutschlandfunk as well as SWR. "nachtgeschwister/provisorisch” was chosen as ‘radio play of the month’; by the Deutschen Akademie of Darstellenden Kuenste in December 2015. The jury made their decision on the following grounds:

“ (…) It is to the great credit of the two actors, Anja Schneider and Daniela Holtz, who, as script-writers, manage to unite these two texts and to create intense dialogue. This experiment has previously been brought to the stage; here, in the audio medium, Martina Gedeck and Christian Redle express the increasingly confused voices of "She" and of (the masculine counterpart)"He", intent on destroying his strengths. Out of this comes a powerful radio play, as shocking as it is aesthetically fascinating.

Writing/Screenplays:

Completed: The script "Näher zu Dir" ("Closer to you") focuses on three women from different generations, who have settled into their relationships and loneliness in their own various ways. A storm, which whips through the city with unexpected power, forces the women into a decisive situation: either they tear down the walls of lies in their lives or they start to say goodbye to the person they always wanted to be.

Developing: The play ‘You Porn Mongo’ addresses the increasingly early pornografication of youth culture. Not only must Ella assert herself in school against the popular clique, she must also contend with the fact that her little sister Mona, who was born with down’s syndrome, does not fit into the teenage world’s image of perfection. Over the course of the story it is Mona who teaches Ella how fulfilling life can be when you are able to ignore the
pressure of external images.

In development: “Riga” - A novel

Editing experience

2013 Script development of the stage adaptation of “Slaughter House 5”, a Wenke Hardt production,
2012/13 Edited the radio play ‘Teufels Spielplatz’ (The Devil’s Playground) by Levander Berg, produced by Deutschlandradio
2011 Script development of the screenplay “Two Lives” by Georg Maas (preselected for the Oscar nomination for ‘Best Foreign Film’ 2014)

Daniela Holtz | Schauspiel-Drehbuch-Coaching

Texte/Stücke

Daniela Holtz arbeitet als Autorin von Drehbüchern, Stücken, Hörbüchern und freien Texten. Neben dem eigenen Schreiben lektoriert sie auch Stoffe aus dem Film und Hörspielbereich.


Stücke:

Das Stück "nachtgeschwister", verlegt bei, Verlag Felix-Bloch-Erben Berlin, handelt von der obsessiven Liebesbeziehung eines Ostschriftstellers und einer Westschriftstellerin, die sich auf einer Lesereise im Westen begegnen. Basierend auf den autobiografisch geprägten Romanen von Wolfgang Hilbig „Provisorium“ und Natascha Wodin „Nachtgeschwister“ entstand ein Theaterstück, das die Grenzen menschlicher Beziehung und hilfloser Lust auf der Folie der Vorwende/Wendezeit in Berlin und Nürnberg auslotet. Wie weit ist ein Mensch bereit zu gehen, wenn er den vermeintlichen Seelenpartner gefunden hat. Eine Beziehungsreise in die Finsternis, aus der nur einer lebend wieder auftauchen kann.

Sie: „Du wirst mir immer unheimlicher. Ich weiß nicht wie es mit uns weitergehen soll. Wie  wir miteinander leben sollen? Und wo?“
Er: „Meinetwegen auf einer Müllkippe.“
Sie: „Es gibt keinen Ort den ich dir anbieten kann.“
Er: „Hauptsache mit dir. Du kennst dich mit dem Leben besser aus als ich.“
Sie: „Aber es reicht nicht. Ich brauche selbst eine Planke.“


Hörspiel:

Das Hörspiel „nachtgeschwister/provisorisch“ gesprochen von Martina Gedeck und Christian Redl, Regie Ulrich Lampen, wurde 2014 von mdr Figaro produziert und ausgestrahlt und seither von deutschlandradio kultur, deutschlandfunk sowie dem SWR gesendet. "nachtgeschwister/provisorisch" war von der Deutschen Akademie der Darstellenden Künste im Dezember 2015 zum "Hörspiel des Monats" gewählt worden. Die Jury begründete ihre Entscheidung folgendermaßen

"(...) Es ist das Verdienst der beiden Schauspielerinnen Anja Schneider und Daniela Holtz als „Hörspiel-Bearbeiterinnen“ die beiden vorliegenden Texte in einen intensiven Dialog miteinander zu bringen. Dieses Experiment hatten sie bereits auf die Bühne gebracht, im akustischen Medium nun geben Martina Gedeck und Christian Redl der zunehmend verstörten „Sie“ und dem seine Kräfte zerstörenden „Er“ Ausdruck. Ein intensives Hörspiel um eine amour fou ist entstanden, gleichermaßen menschlich schockierend wie ästhetisch faszinierend."


Texte/Drehbücher:

Fertiggestellt: Das Drehbuch „Näher zu Dir“ handelt von drei Frauen aus drei Generationen, die sich unterschiedlich in ihren Beziehungen und Einsamkeiten eingerichtet haben. Ein Sturm, der mit unerwarteter Zerstörungskraft durch die Stadt peitscht, zwingt die Frauen in eine Entscheidungssituation: entweder sie reißen die Lügenmauern in ihrem Leben ein oder sie beginnen damit, sich von dem Mensch, der sie immer sein wollten, zu verabschieden.

In Arbeit: Das Theaterstück „You Porn Mongo“ erzählt von den Auswirkungen der immer früheren  Pornografisierung der Gesellschaft auf Jugendliche. Ella muss sich nicht nur in ihrer Schule gegen die angesagte Clique durchsetzen sondern kämpft auch noch mit der Tatsache, dass ihre kleine Schwester Mona, die mit  Trisomie 21 auf die Welt kam, nicht ins Bild der perfekt schönen Teenagerwelt passt. Dabei ist es am Ende Mona, die Ella zeigt auf was es im Leben neben dem Erfüllen von äußeren Bildern noch ankommt.

In Arbeit: „Riga“- ein Roman.


Referenzen/Lektorate:

2013 Mitarbeit/Dramaturgie Stückfassung „Schlachthof 5“, Inszenierung Wenke Hardt
2012/13 Lektorat Hörspiel „Teufels Spielplatz“ von Levander Berg produziert vom Deutschlandradio
2011 Mitarbeit Drehbuch „Zwei Leben“ von Georg Maas (Vorauswahl Oscarnominierung „Bester ausländischer Film“ 2014)

Daniela Holtz | Schauspiel-Drehbuch-Coaching